Skip to content

Sensational 81st Goodwood Members’ Meeting

Pictures: Peter Summers / Goodwood

The 81st Goodwood Members’ Meeting, marking the 10th anniversary since the event was revived in 2014, was full of the usual thrills and spills as well as some high-profile innovations. Among them was the mandatory use of sustainable fuel in both the Ken Miles Cup and the Gordon Spice Trophy, presaging Goodwood going exclusively sustainable for fuels across all it events.

Other novelties included a sidecar shootout, the dynamic debut of Gordon Murray’s T50 (with Dario Franchitti at the wheel), plus the newly rehomed Tyrrell Shed opening its doors to the chosen few for the first time, with a fuller opening planned for the Revival.

The big demonstrations honoured Niki Lauda via his 1985 Dutch Grand Prix-winning McLaren MP4/2B and the wonderfully menacing Shadows racers, while debutants included Jamie Chadwick and an all-Mustang grid, in which Michael Whitaker and Andrew Jordan were victorious.

Other big winners included Craig Davies and Ashley Sutton in the 45-minute two-driver Gordon Spice Trophy and Julian Majzub who piloted the monster Sunbeam ‘Indianapolis’ to the spoils in the SF Edge Trophy.

Get Octane Magazine straight from publication to your door with a subscription

Print + Digital 12 months single payment £72 Print + Digital 12 months £70 Print + Digital 6 months £36 Digital 12 issues £40